I am a Student at master`s degree physiotherapy neurology in Switzerland. I will write about ethical aspects of Brain-Computer-Interfaces. What do you think are the most important ethical aspects of this technology?

3 Replies to “I am a Student at master`s degree physiotherapy neurology in Switzerland. I will write about ethical aspects of Brain-Computer-Interfaces. What do you think are the most important ethical aspects of this technology?”

  1. Hi there and welcome to the International Ethics Project online course.

    I’m really interested in looking at how the most cutting edge technologies are impacting our clinical and professional practices. BCIs, robotics, genetic modification, 3D printing, artificial intelligence and a host of advanced technologies are pushing against the boundaries of what we have traditionally considered to be “normal”, and “moral”. I’ve written about this briefly in a small project I did with my undergraduate students in 2015: http://www.mrowe.co.za/blog/2015/07/physiotherapy-in-2050-ethical-and-clinical-implications/.

    I think that this is an area that is absolutely fascinating to explore. I’m looking forward to hearing more of your thoughts on the topic.

    All the best,
    Michael

    Like

    1. Hi Michael thank you so much for your link to your project. I am currently writing about this ethical aspects to the theme Brain-Computer-interfaces. There are the aspects of bioethics, research ethic,information ethics, engineering ethics etc. In the State ot the Art Brain-Computer-Interfaces Research(2017) the researchers have conceived new approaches. The aim is to develop more spectrum of different diagnoses,: stroke, musculoskeletal pain, cerebral palsy etc.

      In my Essay I differentiate the ethical aspects from the input-components, decoding component and the output components. Very interesting in your project is the question in the clinical reasoning process “who is making decision” in this process? Is it algorithm decoding component? As well I have literature on information ethics to the topic “human enhancement” from Oliver Bendel (Professor Information Ethic).I will try to describe additional to the bioethic aspects, the aspects from the boundaries to the technology (risk and chances) and for the ethical analysis I will use the care ethic (european version). Yes that is absolutely fascinating! Nevertheless the ethical discussion is important to take care for this part of vulnerable patients. Thank you for your Link Michael. I will mention this in my essay. Best regards Antje

      ________________________________ Von: International Ethics Project Gesendet: Dienstag, 20. Juni 2017 20:53 An: Kruse-Scherf Antje Betreff: [International Ethics Project] Comment: “I am a Student at master`s degree physiotherapy neurology in Switzerland. I will write about ethical aspects of Brain-Computer-Interfaces. What do you think are the most important ethical aspects of this techno…

      Like

Leave a Reply

