Morality and ethics

I believe that our morals begin to be formed from the day we were born. As we grow and participate in small groups, such as family, school, friends, church, this morality is modulating, until we reach a point where we can define for ourselves what is right or wrong. In my case, what I believe influences my attitudes completely.

However, the moment we choose a profession, especially those that deal directly with people, such as physiotherapy, we have to know that our professional practice will be guided by our morals in some cases, but especially by ethics. I believe that there may be cases where we will not morally approve of our patient’s attitudes, but we have to respect him in the same way as the others. I believe in some principles that can guide our professional ethics: do not harm, equity, patient autonomy, secrecy and respect for life.

In order for the professionals to present more ethical behavior, we must promote the discussion on this theme at various times in the undergraduate course, so that everyone has the opportunity to express their thoughts and ask questions about the topic.

4 Replies to “Morality and ethics”

  1. Hello
    Your post is very interesting. I agree completely with your view on how our morals are formed. Perhaps to make your title more catchy, you could incorporate the key idea of what your post will be based on, example: ‘How I believe morals are formed’.

    This topic of morals and ethics and how they differ has been greatly researched. Luckily for us, we can just type it in on google and be provided with numerous of articles. Further, there are also articles available to help us as up and coming physiotherapists. Articles that can advise us on how to treat all patients ethically.
    What do you think the difference between morals and ethics are?
    Do you think that you treat all patients ethically? what does treating patients ethically even mean?

    These are questions I have too asked myself. Knowing the answers to our own questions, I believe, gives us a sense of confidence and reassurance in our opinions and knowledge.

    I think that because we are all soon to be professionals, we slowly begin to adapt some of the traits of one. I also think that due to this, it is essential for us to answer our own questions through the use of the various resources available (lecturers, books, articles etc).

    Perhaps doing some research into the given topic may assist you in the above.

    I enjoyed reading your post and hope that my feedback has been constructive and useful.
    Best of luck for the rest of the year

    Jenita
    UWC

    Like

    1. Hi, Jenita!
      Thank you for your comment!
      Regarding the topic title, my class and I usually put the same title as the reference topic we read, you know? In fact, I did not know I could change kkk.
      I also agree that we should always seek more knowledge about the subject, after all, only through reading allied with our experiences will we acquire more knowledge, especially to answer, for example, your questions, which for me are still very complex! I have no clinical experience yet = /
      I really appreciate your feedback!

      Maria Teresa
      UFMG

      Like

  2. Hi,

    Thank you for your post. I feel that you have done a great job at explaining and giving through your thoughts on morality and ethics.

    You mentioned that, as physiotherapists (health care providers), we will be guided by our morals and that sometimes we will not agree with our patients’ attitudes and views on certain things. A question, came up while I was busy reading this. How do you feel about having moral courage? Moral courage is an individual’s ability to stand up for what he believes is right or wrong, even though there might be consequences involved. Do you feel that you have enough moral courage to, in an appropriate situation, stand up for what you believe? I agree with your last paragraph and feel that this is a way of promoting and developing moral courage; which is absolutely necessary in clinical practice.

    This article is a great read on moral courage.
    http://www.nursingworld.org/MainMenuCategories/EthicsStandards/Resources/Courage-and-Distress/Moral-Courage-and-Risk.html

    Also, I would have liked to read more about your specific experiences in the clinical setting. Have you experienced situations where your morals and ethics were challenged? How did you react on this and how did you feel? What does ethics or treating a patient ethically mean to you? What does evidence say about treating a patient ethically?

    With regards to your writing, I feel that your structure was quite well and your piece was easy to read and follow. I do however recommend that you use references and additional evidence in future posts as this can positively influence the quality of your post. You must also remember to categorize your post so that it is easier to find.

    All and all I think you did well. I look forward to reading more of your posts.

    Kind regards,
    Lania
    UWC

    Like

    1. Hello, Lania.
      Thank you for bringing this concept of moral courage. I still had not heard. I sincerely hope that in the future as a professional I will have the moral courage to stand up for what I believe. I think it is not easy, but we should seek this at all times.
      I unfortunately do not yet have any clinical experience, so it’s still a bit difficult to explain how it would be to treat a patient ethically. I imagine that the first step is to follow the basic principles of ethics: autonomy, beneficence, non-maleficence and justice.
      Thank you for your feedback and for the tips.

      Maria Teresa
      UFMG

      Like

Leave a Reply

