Integrity and Wrongdoing

I am a firm believer in rules and like to govern my life with a set of morals. However like many individuals at times I will bend and break the rules. I understand that it is wrong to do so, but I almost feel that at times it is necessary.

The rules which I find myself breaking are not of the same stature as “sexual harassment, substance abuse, fraud or whistle blowing” (Hoffman & Nortje, 2015) and I have no personal experiences relating to any of the topics, however I do believe that it is essential that I familiarize myself with these topics as I will be entering the professional world at the end of this year and obeying these rules play a huge role in becoming a upstanding professional.

Whistle blowing is one topic, which I am concerned about when I enter the professional world. I am an individual who likes to listen to everyone stories and tell stories myself and due to this I think in the future I could very well find myself in a position where I may need to tell higher authorities about a certain situation or wrong doing which I have heard of. Furthermore I am a firm believer in the law and feel extremely guilty once I have broken a small rule, so I know for a fact that if an individual was to tell me something which needs to be reported to a higher authority I will feel obliged to do so. On top of this I often find that in my life the law trumps empathy or sympathy and therefore I believe it would be easy for me to rat someone out.

With all this being said I believe that whistle blowing will cause emotional turmoil for myself in the future, due to my personality. Therefore I need to try and distance myself from certain conversations or situations which may lead to this personal conflict and identify an effective way to manage whistle blowing for myself personally.

 

References:

Hoffmann, W.A. & Nortjé, N., 2015, ‘Ethical misconduct by registered physiotherapists in South Africa (2007–2013): A mixed methods approach’, South African Journal of Physiotherapy 71(1).

Whistle-Blowing in the Workplace Guidance | Acas. (2017). Acas.org.uk. Retrieved 7 March 2017, from http://www.acas.org.uk/index.aspx?articleid=1919Whistle-Blowing in the Workplace Guidance | Acas. (2017). Acas.org.uk. Retrieved 10 March 2017, from http://www.acas.org.uk/index.aspx?articleid=1919

Leave a Reply

