Introduction- Faatimah Patel

Hi everyone around the world 🙂  I am a final year physiotherapy student at the University of the Western Cape in Cape Town, South Africa. To be honest, I was very skeptical about writing my thoughts on a public platform. I am a shy and quiet person ( until you get to really know me) and so this felt like a very daunting task, however I am very excited to interact with others and read what is on their minds’. Growing up as a farm girl I was quite on the tomboy side of life, climbing trees, fishing, playing sport you name it, I did it. It was a great childhood and sometimes I miss those simple, easy days of having no responsibilities and commitments.

I’m a chocolate and coffee lover, I enjoy the outdoors, photography and sometimes just staying in with a good book or series. Family and close friends are very important to me, maybe it is because I live away from home but each moment spent with my loved ones are precious to me.

At the age of 18 my parents gave me the opportunity to pursue my passion in becoming a physiotherapist and so I packed up and moved to a new city in order to achieve my dreams. growing up in a conservative home and being the only daughter and now moving across the country to pursue my studies was a big adjustment not only for myself but for my family as well. Needless to say these past few years have not been easy but I have grown a lot as a person and I am proud of who I am. Physiotherapy is definitely not easy, it takes a lot of hard work, dedication and perseverance. I think having a passion for physiotherapy helps me push through those days when it just seems easier to quit. I love paediatrics, I don’t why but even though it can be very challenging at times but the feeling you get when helping a child is just indescribable. I believe we can help children when they feel helpless and think all hope is lost and so I plan on furthering my studies in paediatric physiotherapy, well that’s the plan.

Ethics is intriguing. I enjoy the lengthy discussions and interesting opinions of others. I look forward to this module as it gives me an idea of others’ perspectives and helps me to think outside the box. I am also excited to learn about the thoughts and experiences of others in different parts of the world.

Leave a Reply

