Introduction – Jenita Hattingh

Hello, my name is Jenita Hattingh and I am a 4th year Physiotherapy student at the University of the Western Cape, in Cape Town, South Africa. My interest in physiotherapy started from a very young age and it grew as I learnt more about the profession. As a student, I’ve definitely realised that there is so much more to physiotherapy than I originally thought. I would be lying if i had to say that I love the profession, mainly because it pushes me out of my comfort zone. Even so ,I learn new things daily and I believe that as I grow in my knowledge and my confidence, I will adapt better and love the profession more. Physiotherapy is challenging but in my short experience, it has proven to be rewarding.

I am excited for ethics as a module. I feel that my class is very separated and it has a lot to do with our lack of understanding of each other. I feel that ethics opens up a platform to voice our opinions and let each other know about ourselves in a safe environment. This could be a fantastic way to learn about our classmates and get a deeper understanding of them.

With regard to the online blog, I am slightly skeptical but only because it pushes me out of my comfort zone. The idea of sharing my thoughts & opinions with so many other people, and opening myself up to their criticism, is scary.  However, I am open to the experience. It offers a great opportunity to receive other peoples thoughts & opinions which could help to change and better my own. This year as a whole is going to be a challenging one, so I might as well challenge my thought processes while I’m at it.

2 Replies to “Introduction – Jenita Hattingh”

  1. I definitely hope that this module will bring our class closer and on a level where we understand each other well and I hope we get to a point where each of us make an effort to get to know each other 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Jenita. Thanks for your honest and thought-provoking comments on the course and on your class. I’d love to hear what you think about the influence of the course on the issues you mentioned, when we get to the end. All the best.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

